Tuesday, 12 March 2019

States declared inconclusive

The elections were conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in 29 states of the federation on Saturday, 9th of March which the governorship and state assembly positions where duly contested for.
The electoral umpire began the collation of results in most of the states where elections were conducted. Still collation is still ongoing in some states.

Some of the states in which elections where conducted had newcomers into the political positions. While in particular six (6) states of Nigeria, the elections were declared inconclusive with Kano state to be recently added to this category, already included amongst these states are Plateau, Bauchi, Benue, Sokoto and Adamawa. Rivers have not been left with election crisis rocking it from several elections held in that state. The election was declared undecided. Reasons for the declaration of inconclusive elections was majorly a result of cancelled votes in the six states. The election was a contest by the two major political parties which are Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) and All Progressives Congress (APC). Though there are various political parties, but the other parties are yet to have a pronounced popularity amongst the people.
How the statistics go
Abba Kabir Yusuf    PDP 1,014,474
Abdullahi Umar Ganduje  APC 987,819
Winning margin: 26,655
The total number of cancelled votes in 22 local government areas including the Gama ward in the Nasarawa local government are 141,694
Aminu Tambuwal    PDP 489,558
Ahmed Aliyu      APC 486,145
Winning margin: 3,413
The cancellation occurred in 136 polling units with 75,403 registered voters.
Samuel Ortom  PDP 410,576
Emmanuel Jime  APC 329,022
Winning margin: 81,554
The state’s INEC returning officer, Sebastian Maimako, said the decision appropriate following the observation that the election was met with some challenges which are high number of voters were unable to vote or election was not held in their communities.
Bala Mohammed PDP   469,512 Muhammed Abubakar  APC  465,456
Rejected Votes: 21,419
Winning margin: PDP leads the race with 4059
Total number of cancelled votes: 45,312
Jibrila Bindow APC 334,995
Ahmadu Fintiri   PDP 367,471
Winning margin: 32,476
Total number of cancelled votes: 40,988
INEC’s returning officer, Andrew Haruna said votes are cancelled in 44 polling units across the state. He declared the poll held in the state inconclusive.
Simon Lalong     APC 334,995
Jeremiah Useni  PDP 367,471
Total registered voters: 2,480,455
Total accredited voters: 1,157,025
Total valid votes: 1,154,678
Rejected votes: 15,691
Total votes cast: 1,154,678
Winning margin: 44,929
Total cancelled votes: 49,377
With these states declared inconclusive, the affected polling units are expected to have a rerun in a soonest date to be announced by the electoral umpire.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Disclaimer, whatever opinions, comments and suggestions are solely that of those commenting and does not reflect the site owner's views

Man, Man By Emmalizer

Photo Shot by Emmalizer, In Picture: Young Prof MAN, MAN By Emmalizer Every man👨🏾 to himself, the same thing happens everywhere?...